Thursday, February 25, 2010

2010 Janet & Walter Sondheim Prize Semi-Finalists Announced

2010 Janet & Walter Sondheim Prize Semi-Finalists

Alzaruba; Baltimore, MD
Christine Bailey; Baltimore, MD
Kathryn Bell; Baltimore, MD
Amita Bhatt; Baltimore, MD
Travis Childers; Fairfax, VA
Leah Cooper; Baltimore, MD
Brent Crothers; Bel Air, MD
Oletha DeVane; Ellicott City, MD
Annie Farrar; Baltimore, MD
Shaun Flynn; Baltimore, MD
Dawn Gavin; Baltimore, MD
Breon Gilleran; Baltimore, MD
Amy Glengary Yang; Washington, DC
Ryan Hackett; Kensington, MD
Michelle Hagewood; Baltimore, MD
Matthew Janson; Baltimore, MD
Evan La Londe; Baltimore, MD
Nate Larson; Baltimore, MD
Christopher LaVoie; Baltimore, MD
Lawrence Lee; Baltimore, MD
Kim Manfredi; Baltimore, MD
Ben Marcin; Baltimore, MD
Christina Martinelli; Baltimore, MD
Sebastian Martorana; Baltimore, MD
Alexa Meade; Chevy Chase, MD
Maggie Michael; Washington, DC
Ledelle Moe; Baltimore, MD
Cory Oberndorfer; Washington, DC
Matthew Porterfield; Baltimore, MD
Siobhan Rigg; Washington, DC
Michael Sylvan Robinson; Baltimore, MD
Rachel Rotenberg; Baltimore, MD
Adam T. Rush; Baltimore, MD
Christopher Saah; Washington, DC
Hadieh Shafie; Baltimore, MD
Dan Steinhilber; Washington, DC
Melissa Webb; Baltimore, MD
Karen Yasinsky; Baltimore, MD

This year’s jurors are Robert Nickas, Magdalena Sawon and Hamza Walker. The Janet & Walter Sondheim Artscape Prize is designed to assist visual artist or visual artist collaborators working in the Greater Baltimore region by awarding a $25,000 fellowship. The prize is in conjunction with the annual Artscape juried exhibition and is produced with The Baltimore Museum of Art (BMA) and Maryland Institute College of Art (MICA).

Approximately six finalists will be reviewed for the prize. Their work will be shown in the Alvin and Fanny B. Thalheimer Galleries of The Baltimore Museum of Art, located at 10 Art Museum Drive. In addition, an exhibition of the semi-finalists’ work will be shown during the Artscape weekend in the Decker and Meyerhoff galleries of the Maryland Institute College of Art, located at 1303 W. Mount Royal Avenue. The prize is part of Artscape, America’s largest free celebration of the arts, taking place Friday, July 16 through Sunday, July 18, 2010 on Mount Royal Avenue and North Charles Street.

The fellowship winner will be selected after a review of the art installed at the BMA and an interview with each finalist by the jurors. The remaining finalists not selected for the fellowship will each receive a $1,000 honorarium. Artist collaborators will receive a single $25,000 prize if chosen as the winner or a $1,000 honorarium that will be equally divided among the members of the group.

Congratulations to all the Semi-Finalists!

Finalists will be announced Tuesday, April 13, 2010

No comments:

Post a Comment